Toggle Nav
Call +49 2501 9288 320

We are pleased to assist you!

Free Shipping

From within Germany from 50 €

My Cart My Cart
Article Number

Kings, Queens and Rookies


160 pages, hardback, New in Chess, 1. edition 2023

Incl. Tax, excl. Shipping Cost

Every winter, the world's strongest chess players and most promising chess prodigies travel to a small seaside village in the Netherlands to immerse themselves for two weeks in chess and chess only. Usually, the World Champion is there, vying for victory. Garry Kasparov won three times, Vishy Anand won five times, and Magnus Carlsen won a record eight times.

The tournament is a gift of the local steel company to their neighbours, the shops, restaurants and B&Bs, and the global community of chess lovers. Hundreds of amateur chess players come to Wijk aan Zee and play in the same hall as the elite grandmasters. Fans all around the world can follow the games with expert commentary during the online live broadcasts.

In 2023, the Tata Steel Chess tournament celebrates its 85th edition. This book captures the uniqueness of the festival in 159 pages. It tells the stories of the winners, the amateurs and their favourite restaurants. Dozens of pictures highlight how photogenic the event is. And, of course, the book includes magnificent chess games annotated by the winners. Wijk aan Zee and the Tata Steel Chess Tournament bring out the best in chess..

Erwin l'Ami is a Dutch Grandmaster and a regular participant in Wijk aan Zee.

Peter Doggers is's Director of News and Events.

Dirk Jan ten Geuzendam is editor-in-chief of New In Chess magazine.

Peter Boel is the managing editor of New In Chess books.

More Information
Weight 750 g
Manufacturer New in Chess
Width 19,5 cm
Height 23,5 cm
Medium Book
Year of Publication 2023
Author Dirk Jan ten GeuzendamErwin l´AmiPeter Boel
Language English
Edition 1
ISBN-13 9789493257771
Pages 160
Binding hardback


009 A Jubilee Edition

The Past 25 Years

013 My Wijk aan Zee - Erwin l’Ami

027 Winning in Wijk aan Zee - Interview Jan Timman and Jorden van Foreest


035 Garry Kasparov

039 Veselin Topalov

042 John van der Wiel

044 The Tarantella Connection

046 Viswanathan Anand

050 Maarten Etmans

053 Vladimir Kramnik

055 Anish Giri

058 Ivan Sokolov

061 Magnus Carlsen

The First 60 Years

065 A View from the Dunes - Peter Boel

The Games

079 Diamonds and Pearls

081 Kasparov — Topalov

089 Timman — Romanishin

096 Carlsen — Ernst

098 Polgar — Svidler

101 Topalov — Kramnik

108 Giri — Aronian

113 Aronian — Anand

117 Carlsen — Sokolov

123 So — Harikrishna

130 Giri — Mamedyarov

136 Caruana — Duda

143 Van Foreest — Grandelius

151 Winners Gallery