Toggle Nav
Call +49 2501 9288 320

We are pleased to assist you!

Visiting our store in Münster possible again without appointment

Wearing a medical mask covering the mouth and nose is the only obligation. It goes without saying that we have taken the necessary measures to protect from the danger of infection. We are looking forward to your visit.

Shopping Cart Shopping Cart
Article Number

Smyslov, Bronstein, Geller, Taimanov, Averbakh

A Chess Multibiography with 220 Games

392 pages, hardback, McFarland, 1. edition 2021

Incl. Tax, excl. Shipping Cost

A crucial decision spared chess Grandmaster David Bronstein almost certain death at the hands of the Nazis - one fateful move cost him the world championship. Russian champion Mark Taimanov was a touted as a hero of the Soviet state until his loss to Bobby Fischer all but ruined his life. Yefim Geller’s dream of becoming world champion was crushed by a bad move against Fischer, his hated rival. Yuri Averbakh had no explanation how he became the world’s oldest grandmaster, other than the quixotic nature of fate. Vasily Smyslov, the only one of the five to become world champion, would reign for just one year - fortune, he said, gave him pneumonia at the worst possible time. This book explores how fate played a capricious role in the lives of five of the greatest players in chess history.

Grandmaster Andy Soltis, eight times champion of the Marshall Chess Club, New York Post editor and Chess Life columnist, is the author of dozens of chess books. He lives in New York City.

More Information
Weight 880 g
Manufacturer McFarland
Width 17,8 cm
Height 25,4 cm
Medium Book
Year of Publication 2021
Author Andrew Soltis
Language English
Edition 1
ISBN-13 978-1476677934
Pages 392
Binding hardback
Diagrams 227
Photos 44

001 Preface

003 Introduction: Fate

007 1. First Moves

025 2. Finding Themselves

036 3. War

054 4. ­Super-Empowerment

070 5. Golden Medals

089 6. Tal, Before Tal

114 7. Abroad

129 8. Birth of Rivalries

144 9. Secrets and Scandals

164 10. What Will Be, Will Be

180 11. Good to Great

198 12. Thaw

209 13. One-Year King

221 14. Torch Passing

237 15. Honored Masters of Sport

258 16. Fatal One Point

271 17. By Chance

285 18. Great Futures, Behind Them

297 19. Fortuna

310 20. End of an Era

323 Epilogue

327 Appendix A: Chronology, 1921-2017

346 Appendix B: Rankings Comparison

349 Chapter Notes

367 Bibliography

371 Index of Opponents

373 Index of Openings - Traditional Names

374 Index of Openings-ECO Codes

375 General Index

More from McFarland
  1. More from McFarland